28 Mar 14 – Aston Villa (H) Pre-Match Press Conference

David Moyes, 28th March 2014 – Aston Villa (EPL, H)

David Moyes, 28th March 2014 – Aston Villa (EPL, H)

TOURNAMENT – Barclays Premier League

MATCH – Aston Villa (Home) at Old Trafford

DATE & TIME – 29th March 2014, 12:45 GMT

Pre-Match Press Conference Transcript of David Moyes

Q. Well David, another week where it’s been two steps forward and three steps back, isn’t it?

Moyes: Hmm, yeah, we didn’t play well in midweek, and it was disappointing. But, going into the game, we played well against Olympiakos, we played well against West Ham, so going into the game against Aston Villa, we’d like to get more of the West Ham performance if we could rather than the midweek one.

Q. You defended the players so fiercely, do they deserve a little bit of the blame rather than.. ?

Moyes: Well, the players know exactly what it is to play for Manchester United. They know the standards they have to set. But, they are hurting as well as me, they really are. They’re desperate to put it right. And hopefully when we get to the game against Villa, they can show that.

Q. When it gets to hurt though, its a different stage isn’t it? They’re talking about a banner flying above Old Trafford that no one in this room thinks its a nice thing.

Moyes: No, that’s right. I’ve heard of it, I’ve heard what they’re saying about it but, this is something which.. this is a long journey here. This is only the start of the journey and people can do that, obviously they’re entitled to do that.

Q. Is it hard though, when they don’t know the hours that you’re putting into this job and how hard you’re actually trying to turn things around here?

Moyes: Well, you work hard. You work hard to get to this place in the first place. But I’ve got to say that I’m more driven to succeed than ever, because obviously I want the team to turn around. I want to change this position we’re in just now. And I really do believe we can do that. I think we’ve got a great club, which obviously gives you the chance to do that, because of the people, the players we can attract to the club. But, its just gonna take a little bit of time to get it sorted.

Q. How much encouragement does it give you David that the majority of fans are still on your side, and its only small pockets that seem to have created this unrest?

Moyes: Well everywhere I go I get great support from Manchester United supporters. I was really fortunate that I was a dinner last night for Darren Fletcher. And the amount of Manchester United supporters who were up and saying, ‘Come on, keep going. We understand exactly the situation the club’s in and the team’s in’. So, they’re really supportive. And every time I’ve gone to Old Trafford, the crowd have been great. I’ve seen different from what a lot of people are saying. But I understand that results are what matter.

Q. I guess that’s the best way to answer it all isn’t it, with results?

Moyes: Yeah, results are football. The business is results-driven. And I’m keen to get those results to make sure that we move up the table.

Q. David, many of the fans think that its the wrong way of showing frustration, a stunt like a fly-protest, not befitting of Manchester United, how disappointing is it?

Moyes: Well, I’m really just repeating myself. Its actually not what I’ve been witnessing. I’ve been witnessing great support inside the ground. I’m witnessing great support from the people I bump into outside the ground, Manchester United supporters. There’s a rebuilding plan under way. I think anybody’s got an understanding of the game understands that will happen. And the people who put me in place in the job here are top football people – they know exactly what’s required at Manchester United, they know exactly the sort of characters you need to have at the club to run the club.

Leave a Reply

