29 Mar 14 – Aston Villa (H) Post-Match Reaction

David Moyes, 29th March 2014 – Aston Villa (EPL, H)

David Moyes, 29th March 2014 – Aston Villa (EPL, H)

TOURNAMENT – Barclays Premier League

MATCH – Aston Villa (Home) at Old Trafford

DATE & TIME – 29th March 2014, 12:45 GMT

RESULT – Man Utd 4 – 1 Aston Villa (Westwood 13′, Rooney 20′, Rooney 45′ (pen), Mata 57′, Hernandez 90′)

Post-Match Press Conference Transcript of David Moyes

Q. David, you must be delighted with that.

Moyes: I am, because we didn’t get off to a great start. We didn’t actually start the first 5-10 minutes, where everybody was a little nervy in that period. But, once  we sort of regrouped and got going, it was  good that we got the first goal back to make it one each. And we scored the second goal at a really good time just before half-time.

Q. I suppose it would have been easy at 1-0 for the pressure to build, for heads to drop a little bit. There was none of that, was there?

Moyes: I thought the opposite, I thought actually the players took the challenge on and actually rose to it after that. I thought we got better. Like I said, we didn’t start the first 15 minutes as well as we’d like, again. But, all in all, the result was what was required and they played well in the end.

Q. We seem to talk about Wayne Rooney’s performance every week, but he’s up to 17 goals now. Has he been the real talisman for United this season?

Moyes: I think he’s played terrifically well since the start of the season. I think he’s been someone who in a lot of ways has done many jobs for us, he’s had to. He’s shown his energy, he’s getting his goals, and we need his goals – and I said to him in the dressing room that you keep scoring two goals for us in games like that and it’ll go a long way for us to improve and win games. So, I was really pleased with the way he played. And maybe, if I was being critical, I’d say he could’ve got a third goal for us, he had a chance for his hat-trick.

Q. Rafael didn’t emerge in the second half, Michael Carrick came on. Was that an injury?

Moyes: Yeah, it was an injury. And, you know, we’re short of defenders at the moment because Antonio Valencia was injured as well, tendinitis in his knee, who we might’ve put to right back. So, we found ourselves having to juggle again today. So we’re certainly short of defenders just now, and I’ve just got to hope that Rafa’s injury isn’t too bad.

Q. Mata got his first goal for United. I think you could see from the reactions of the fans and his teammates what a popular player he already has become.

Moyes: I think he’s popular inside the ground as well because I think, people realize how good a footballer he is. I think he has played well and I think he’s really helped us. And, his goals were one of the reasons we wanted to sign him, because he’s always had a record of scoring goals. And I thought he came very close at West Ham the other week there. He had a chance here as well in the game in midweek. So, there were signs there that it was coming. And today for him to get his first goal was really good.

Q. Alright, couple of subs combined, Januzaj and Chicharito. Obviously keen to show you what they can do as well.

Moyes: Yeah, I love my football and I thought it was a great goal, you know. The sort of interplay out on the right wing between Adnan and Fellaini, and Adnan getting away and putting in a great cross for Chicharito – its the sort of goal if you’re a football supporter, you like to see – good play down the wing and a great cross then for the goal.

Q. You got great applause when you came out at the start. And then at the end, you made a beeline for the Stretford End. Was that your way of saying thanks to the fans?

Moyes: It was because I think, ever since I’ve been at Manchester United, I’ve only ever had support. I don’t know why people are trying to change that, from somewhere, but I actually believe that the Manchester United supporters are right behind me and the team – I think they all understand the situation we’re in. The team was incredibly focused today to get a result, that was the important thing. And I wanted to make sure the focus was right, it wasn’t necessarily on me, albeit everybody knew that was the case today.

Q. Finally, looking forward to Tuesday, two great clubs?

Moyes: Yeah, I’m really looking forward to the game. You know, its been a difficult season for us but we could go a long way to making things feel a lot better if we could get a good result Tuesday night.

Leave a Reply

