14 Mar 14 – Liverpool (H) Pre-Match Press Conference

David Moyes, 14th March 2014 – Liverpool (EPL, H)

David Moyes, 14th March 2014 – Liverpool (EPL, H)

TOURNAMENT – Barclays Premier League

MATCH – Liverpool (Home) at Old Trafford

DATE & TIME – 16th March 2014, 13:30 GMT (19:00 IST)

Pre-Match Press Conference Transcript of David Moyes

Q. How pleased are you with what Robin’s had to say about his long-term future here and his commitment to your cause?

Moyes: Ah, well, I’ve been telling you that but you wanted to say or write something different than what I’ve been telling you. But, its difficult if you don’t believe what I say, but, you know, its nice if Robin’s happy here, and we’re very pleased about that.

Q. How likely is it that you might strike a new deal with him and keep him here for the rest of his career, David?

Moyes: Oh, I don’t know. I didn’t know it was coming out; I’ve only just heard about it this morning, so , we’ll just take it as it is. He’s got a couple of years to go on his contract, and I’m sure it’ll be something the board’ll look at.

Q. But on the back of what Wayne has done with his commitment, it sets you up very nicely for the years to come, doesn’t it now?

Moyes: Well, I’ve always said, I think we’ve got two outstanding forward players in Wayne and Robin. And I think both of them have got the capabilities of winning games off their own back. They’re both pivotal international players – one for England, one for Holland. And I think they’re major players – they’re the sort of players that any side in Europe or the world would want in their team. And, you know, I’m delighted to have both of them together. And certainly, more importantly, both of them showing they want to be Manchester United players is even better.

Q. If that’s perhaps a little boost for you, how big a boost would it be to win on Sunday?

Moyes: It would be a big boost. It would be an important three points, I think everybody knows the importance of Manchester United-Liverpool games. We’ve played them twice this year; once in the league, once in the Cup. So, we’ve come up against each other a couple of times, and they’ve been tight games.

Q. Is it still the biggest game in the country, this one?

Moyes: I think it is. I think its the game which, you know, there’s been enough riding on it; there’s been a great history between the clubs over years,  over a long time, I should say. So, I’ve got to say, I think this is the biggest club game in the Premier League.

Q. David, there’s a sense among Liverpool fans that they go into this match as clear favourites. I think Ian Rush on the radio said so this morning. Do you think that’s accurate?

Moyes: It may well be. I think their league position suggests that they are ahead of us, and you know, they possibly do come here favourites.

Q. Is that a bitter pill for United and United fans to swallow at this point?

Moyes: Well, did you ask the Liverpool manager that question when it’s been Manchester United over many years? So, I think, it happens. As I’ve said before, there’s been a great rivalry between the two clubs. I think Liverpool are having a very good season. And, you know, they’re our next game at home and we have to do everything we possibly can to beat them.

Q. This is the point where Manchester United normally, sort of, come into their own; it has been in previous years. Are you confident that that will happen again in this final run-in?

Moyes: I think Manchester United have always been in strong positions coming into the end of the season. We’re maybe not in as strong a position as we’d like to be, but, I think, every other season, they’ve been very good at this time of the season. And, we’ve got big games coming up this month, and because of that, you know, its important.

Leave a comment